Netiquette · Download · News · Gallery · Homepage · DSSR Manual · G-quadruplexes · DSSR-Jmol · DSSR-PyMOL · DSSR Licensing · Video Overview· RNA Covers

Author Topic: global DNA curvature analysis  (Read 6597 times)

Offline xiaolei

• with-posts
    • View Profile
global DNA curvature analysis
« on: May 14, 2017, 11:25:11 am »
Dear Dr. Lu,
I know you have answered many times in the topic of how to calculate global DNA curvature, as my background is largely biology with almost none computational background, I feel hard to understand when you explain it in a computational or mathematical way about this topic in the forum. I am asking simply that: Is it a way to input a protein/DNA complex structure coordinate (PDB) into w3DNA server or 3DNA program on user's computer and get a global DNA curvature (DNA bending) results, for example such as in protein/DNA complexes papers phrases like "The X-ray structure shows that the DNA is bent overall to 17 􏰆degree",  I'd like to know how to get the overall bent number ( the "17 degree" in my example)  from w3DNA or 3DNA program.

Thanks ahead!
« Last Edit: May 14, 2017, 11:26:42 am by xiaolei »

Offline xiangjun

• Administrator
  • with-posts
    • View Profile
    • 3DNA homepage
Re: global DNA curvature analysis
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2017, 11:45:55 am »
Does the FAQ item "How to calculate DNA bending angle?" (http://forum.x3dna.org/faqs/how-to-calculate-dna-bending-angle/) help? See also the 2008 3DNA Nature Protocols paper which contains a concrete example with detailed script/datafile on exectly this topic.

HTH,

Xiang-Jun

Offline bciezah1

• with-posts
  • bciezah1
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2017, 04:03:35 pm »
Dear Dr. Xiang-Jun,