Netiquette · Download · News · Gallery · Homepage · DSSR Manual · G-quadruplexes · DSSR-Jmol · DSSR-PyMOL · DSSR Licensing · Video Overview· RNA Covers

Author Topic: mutating DNA in DNA protein complex  (Read 12785 times)

Offline kailsen

• with-posts
    • View Profile
mutating DNA in DNA protein complex
« on: October 01, 2007, 12:11:05 pm »
I am a graduate student with biochemistry background. Currently i am working on DNA protein interaction and recently came to know about 3DNA through hundreds of citations that your software has received.
I tried to use the software to understand the effect of DNA mutation on binding of the protein. The Transcription factor in question has the pdb code 1GJI. The DNA sequence in this complex is GGGTTTAAA... and i want to mutate this sequence to GGATAAAAA... Preferably,I want to make the changes in the DNA protein complex itself keeping the backbone same. I hope it will be possible using your software.
Is it advisable to use Rebuild program to get the desired changes incorporated?

thanking you in advance for your help

dnaserver

Offline Liron Bar

• with-posts
    • View Profile
dna mutagenesis
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2007, 04:31:16 pm »
I am doing sort of DNA mutagenesis with 3DNA. Basically what I do is
generating base pair parameters file from PDB file with DNA, than
changing DNA sequence there and the rebuilding DNA in PDB format with
rebuild program. However, rebuild program from 3DNA builds its own phosphate backbone which, albeit similar, is different than the original one.

Could someone tell whether it is possible to run rebuilding with 3DNA in a mode which preserves the original backbone conformation? (one
can write a script to copy phosphate backbone from the original PDB file
but maybe it is unnecessary).

Janek

Offline xiangjun

• Administrator
  • with-posts
    • View Profile
    • 3DNA homepage
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2007, 10:29:01 pm »