Netiquette · Download · News · Gallery · Homepage · DSSR Manual · G-quadruplexes · DSSR-Jmol · DSSR-PyMOL · DSSR Licensing · Video Overview· RNA Covers

Author Topic: x3dna_ensemble extract output naming  (Read 9766 times)

Offline chenyuwai

• with-posts
    • View Profile
x3dna_ensemble extract output naming
« on: December 05, 2015, 11:40:50 am »
Dear Dr. Lu,

I am new to 3DNA. I am trying to analyze a MD trajectory created by GROMACS of its base-stacking properties. I have used find_pair to get the base-pair parameters file, then used x3dna_ensemble analyze to produce an output file without much problem. However, after I used x3dna_ensemble extract -a, I got a number of .out files of which I do not know how to use. I assume the files with *_area.out and *_area0.out are the relevant files reporting base-stacking overlap areas, are these not? Which one should I look at? My structure is a single-stranded stem-loop. The stem is picked up by find_pair correctly. And also, what are the various columns in these two .out files?

A second question is if I can do similar thing to "find_pair -s RNA.pdb | analyze" to my MD ensemble using x3dna_ensemble? I hope to be able to do this to look at stacking areas in the non-paired bases in the loop and see their changes over MD time.

Thank you very much for your reply. I am sorry I tried to look at various places including this forum, the 2 papers but could not find the answer.

Wai

Offline xiangjun

• Administrator
  • with-posts
    • View Profile
    • 3DNA homepage
Re: x3dna_ensemble extract output naming
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2015, 12:08:03 pm »
Hi Wai,

Thanks for using 3DNA!

The different base-stacking areas are related to how the 'polygons' are selected for the overlap calculation. As mentioned in the 2003 3DNA NAR paper, in the Section "Standard stacking diagrams":